Flag of South Africa

🇿🇦 South Africa

Country located in Southern Africa

See all countries


General information related to the country

Comprehensive data for South Africa
Country NameSouth Africa
Country Name (Local)Suid-Afrika / South Africa / Sewula Afrika
Country Flag🇿🇦
Country Area1221037 km2
Country Code (ISO 3166-1)ZA
RegionSouthern Africa
Capital NamePretoria
Capital Latitude-25.74486
Capital Longitude28.18783
Postal Code Format####
Postal Code Regex^(\d{4})$


The currency used for the locale code is South African Rand.

Currency information for South Africa and locale
Currency NameSouth African Rand
Currency Name (Local)South African rand
Currency CodeZAR
Currency SymbolR
Currency Numeric710
Currency Subunit Value100
Currency Subunit NameCents


South Africa has one timezone with UTC offset UTC+02:00.



South Africa shares borders with 6 countries and it's not landlocked.

Ready to say

Greet your customers
in their mother language

Start 14-day trial
No credit card required
country flags

What country is 🇿🇦?

People often ask which country uses 🇿🇦 emoji flag. The answer is South Africa.South Africa is located in Southern Africa continent. The country area is 1221037 km2, and the capital city is Pretoria (-25.74486, 28.18783). Some of the neighboring countries are Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, and the country is not landlocked. Some of the timezones in South Africa are UTC+02:00. The currency used in South Africa is South African rand (ZAR). People in South Africa speak mostly Afrikaans, English, Southern Ndebele, Southern Sotho, Swati, Tswana, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu. South Africa is part of the Southern Africa region.